Postmortem, Post Modern. A Poem by Griffin Silver

cemetery-1341979_960_720

I was once buried

in the cemetery at the top of the hill

but erosion has wiped away fallen comrades,

and through the general disintegration of time

Neither I, nor my headstone is worthy

of my Terra sanctuary.

They gathered around my grave

a site of Carnival, the beers passed around the tombstone.

Old friends pay their respect by day,

and the teens know how to tango

in the early morning

dancing from headstone to headstone

sunrise spotlight on macabre stage.

Now even the vandals don’t come around anymore.

The house cat, bronze iris and black pawed,

traces it’s way around my burying ground

The senorita, margarita in painted face,

hold my holiest of days

and the children tire of my wandering fingers

who knew the body

would be the vehicle

ensnared and tangled

caught in eternal flame

to imprison their manifestation

to imprison the soul.

Though I was never baptized I have known the ceilings of heaven

though I’ve committed no great sin

I know the delusions of hell

They don’t tell you that it’s in the air

just under our noses

where we couldn’t possibly have seen it

 we couldn’t have guessed

Leave a comment

CANVAS & QUILL

Faristha Kanakkapillai

Your sentence here.

Give me a sentence. I'll write you a story.

Jamie Dedes' THE POET BY DAY Webzine

Poets, Poetry, News, Reviews, Readings, Resources & Opportunities for Poets and Writers

Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

howlsensei

Setting words alight

SwittersB & Exploring

Welcome to SwittersB

RED GLADIOLA

Fiction & Poetry Journal of T. Wong

Dry-Humping Parnassus

Poems, Stories, Satire & Humor