Choke Collar

stock-photo-man-ripping-open-his-chest-to-reveal-a-powerful-mechanism-185525810.jpg

You deceive me
With your hand against
my bruised cheek
and the other excavating
my insides

“see”

I didn’t know
That the lining of my stomach
Could thread me through
to neck, to noose,
to bumper

Of snarling
Rusted
Shell
Of what was once
Potential

Before snow snuffed
Up jolly noses
She traces back

sunny side up smiling
Burnt to the asphalt
Road rash face mask

She crams my resigned inners
Twisting
What once was
A man I was proud of

Now
macabre
Dirty laundry
Stinking mildew
And self pity

She picks up reanimated
Affinity
And locks me in a glass room
Scratching at crystallized pane

When it breaks
And I make a run for it
The choke collar tightens
Knowing happiness
Is quick at the tips
Of your grasp
And never quite
Obtainable.

Leave a Reply

