My Beautiful Red Dress

stock-vector-mannequin-and-dress-304915928.jpgTo write you a poem

My beautiful red dress

Would degrade the very form

Like trash in a satin bag

Or a Queen wrestling the men on the street

Where I have seen your face

Shy from my glare

So many times before

I’m not radiating the hatred that appears

I just wish to never see you again

I’d like to make it clear

These words aren’t worthy

Of the page it’s written on

Since it is addressed to you.

You aren’t the first

To trap me in isolating ivory walls

That I assault and I rush

Charging a blind war cry

This isn’t the first glob of spittle

To hit my eye

Do not confuse your illegitimate revenge

With the spit on my face.

*This was written some time ago, and I’ve forgotten about who, if there even was a who. I do not condone assaulting significant others (I was assaulting the ivory walls!) or treating one’s significant other like shit. It’s not cool.

Leave a Reply

