Priestess from the Party

Smitten
Infatuation induced insomnia
Thinking about my hand and yours
Singing about holding hands
Dreaming of holding hands
reaching out in the dark
desperate fingers
Latch like vices

The intoxication
Caught in the spaces
Between our bodies
Salivating soul
Eager to embrace
All the experience and love
damaged nerve can offer

Words dance around old heart break
Like tribal dances around fire
Embers burn the hair off sorry knuckles
a warning
for anyone handling flame
without gloves

For the breath that traps the words in the corners of your lips
Pray, let me prevail
Past the scrutiny in heaven
Penetrations
My resurrection
Breathing hurts, like I forgot how
Being hurts, like I forgot how
Healing hurts, like I forgot how
For I was dead
Before you kissed me

Even if I eat
Converse, breathe, feel
I remain in that
Drunken mistake
Miracle
cosmic chance
Bringing us together

Leave a Reply

