The head in creative writing

I’m told I have an appointment
To meet with the head of creative writing.
The only person who’s wasted more of their time
On fallen dreams
Out of the kids wafer cone
And melting on the street
Until their parents buy a much better
Frozen Dream

Isn’t that beautiful
All that a degree in words can make
All that a pretty sentence can change

Thank you

Hundreds of thousands of dollars
For teaching me how many times a pig can be stuck
And still be happily running back
To the trough.

Thank you for showing me
How everyone of us that drowns
Is just another drop in the sea

What makes me strong
What makes me pass through surface tension
And evaporate
To something better than?
To rise into the clouds
And walk on air?

But it is far too cold
And the ceilings frozen
And still I drown.
I could never crack the ceiling
While I’m feeding off the ocean floor.

Leave a Reply

